Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

Gramercy Park Hotel

Pros

  • Trendy bar scene
  • Opulent rooms
  • Great restaurant
  • Park-side location

Cons

  • Inconsistent service
  • Form-over-function rooms
  • Expensive bar

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

Ian Schrager, boutique hotelier extraordinaire, decorated this property with contemporary art by the likes of Andy Warhol and Jean-Michel Basquiat. The lobby has a chic, hushed quality but upstairs, rooms go for fabulousness over comfort, with draped velvet, studded leather, and very red drapes. Try for a view overlooking Gramercy Park if you can swing it; staffers will also let you in the gated private park on request. Maialino, Danny Meyer's Roman trattoria, has been

a hit since day one; use your hotel connections to snag a reservation. The rooftop garden, renamed Gramercy Terrace, has a retractable roof 17 stories above the city. The Rose Bar remains exclusive, with access only if you're a guest or if you've made a reservation.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

2 Lexington Ave., at Gramercy Park, New York, New York, 10010, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-920–3300

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 139 rooms, 46 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2008

Not Worth The $$ for this Tiny Room

I believe that when you pay $800/night you should get great value, which this hotel failed to deliver. We were upgraded on arrival from a deluxe loft ($800/nt) to a corner 1 bdrm (normally $1200/nt), had we been paying $1200 for the room we got we would have left. The rooms are tiny and dark. I understand that the darkness is part of the whole feel of the place and I'm sure there are many people who would think it was cool, but for us it didn't hit

the right note. The bathroom is so small that the sink cannot fit inside it and is in the room instead. For another 100-200/nt you can get a whopping 700 sq ft at trump intl (where we usually stay) or about 600 sq ft at tribeca grand (another favorite). While the hotel has a nice, funky vibe it struck me as trying a little too hard: the hallways were so dark it was absurd. Service was mostly good but spotty at times. The private rooftop bar is fantastic and the best part of the hotel. The gym is nice though a little small. The bathroom amenities were very nice and unique.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2003

Tired, Dingy & Pretentious

One of the dirtiest hotel rooms I've encountered in many, many years. This is a tired, old hotel that desperately needs to be renovated to restore its old grandeur. The only redeeming qualities were a decent fitness room and its location.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2002

Very Basic. Nice Atmosphere.

The staff were very helpful. The room was OK, (nice & quiet), though I wasn't too keen on all the dust & dead skin under the bed. I wanted a phone book & that seemed to throw the whole place into disarray & panic. It's a nice place though in q. a good district, maybe too residential... very few local coffee shops for breakfast, ( I love that kind of thing when visiting NYC). But for the price I'd recommend this place. Don't expect anything more than

the basics.

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2001

Good location, bad hotel

Gramercy Park is one of the most unique areas of New York! But, BUT! The hotel, unfortunately, is not on par with its surroundings. The lobby smells like smoke, the elevators are rickety, and the room is good for those who are used to camping. What I mean by that is: when walking between bathroom and bed, you find your stepping "islands" of where your bare feet should land and where they shouldn't land. Price may be right, but the quality is not.

Pay more for peace of mind.

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2001

An old NY Hotel

Hey, this place is not so bad! Yes, it's an older hotel, but has atmosphere, old-world service and although not near Times Square, a great place to experience a taste of NY!

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2001

Saw a Water Beetle as big as a RAT

The hotel has seen better days... but it was nice and cheap for a recent job interview. Hell, your only sleeping in the room, not buying the hotel. I was getting out of the shower and saw a large water beetle in the bathroom. That kind of summed up the hotel.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2001

Tired Grand Dame

I'm sure that this was a very nice hotel in its day, but now it's just old and shabby. The rooms look like something out of a "B" movie. Rusty fridge, mystery stains in the bathroom, scratched and dented furniture, and shades bent beyond recgonition. Avoid this place at all costs!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement