Romantic Charleston Trip Suggestions

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 9th, 2005, 09:35 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey everyone-I'm new to Fodor's...anyways, I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for romantic places in Charleston on a college student's budget...My girlfriend and I am visiting a mutual friend and his wife at the Naval base (which means free accomodations! yay!) and I plan on proposing to her while we are there....We were able to come to Charleston last summer but only got to spend basically half a day in the city exploring...This time we will have much more time to look around the area-the itinerary looks something like sat-explore Charleston, Sun-Folly Beach, Monday-The Lowcountry (suggestions?) Anyways, I was hoping you guys might have suggestions on what would be some romantic locales in the city to propose-I'm considering the gazebo at the Meeting Street Park but am afraid it might be too crowded. I've also looked into the private carriage tours but they are a bit pricey for my sadly limited budget. Also, what are some good, reasonably priced restuarants in the city? Sorry this is such a rambling and long message...any help will be much appreciated!!!
Old Aug 9th, 2005, 09:49 PM

Hi NovemberRane, maybe an odd idea, but what about proposing inside St. Michaels Church? When I was there with a friend there was no one else in St. Michaels, it is historical and it would certainly be a location you would both remember. Best wishes to you.
Old Aug 10th, 2005, 01:04 AM

I think anywhere along The Battery would be nice. If you went early in the morning it would be less crowded.
Old Aug 10th, 2005, 04:46 AM
GoTravel

Here is a free and very romantic suggestion:

Walk her to the top of the new Ravanel Bridge and propose overlooking Charleston, the Stono River, Charleston Harbor, Cooper River, Ashley River, The Atlantic Ocean, etc.

Or you could walk her out on the pier in front of the Harborview Hotel.