Hertz Dublin Airport- Any Sleaze?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 30th, 2009, 05:58 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

We are going to be renting a small manual econobox at Dublin airport, returning to Shannon, June 18-22. Hertz , through the US website had a 15% off discount, and I have the cherished World Mastercard with with MasterRent that covers CDW and Theft in Ireland. The Hertz booking is about 80E with only airport terminal fee clearly included (and they know about the dropoff). The website mentions the use of this Mastercard, but does not clearly indicate a fee for its use, nor are there any specific documentation requirements.

I have a copy of the MasterRent agreement and a print from by CitiBank website indicating that MasterRent applies to my flavor of credit card.

I was wondering if anyone had any recent experience with Hertz at the Dublin Airport and attempted to use a credit card with MasterRent coverage. Did they push back or roll over?

I really think I have the documented proof that a reasonable person would need to avoid a hassle, but I don't want to get there and have to fight for my "rights". Any experiences with them?

Rick
Old May 31st, 2009, 08:06 PM

I will be in the same situation in August and would also appreciate knowing how this has gone for people recently...
Old Jun 2nd, 2009, 04:49 AM

We rented from Hertz at the Dublin Airport in April (booked online) using our World MC. My spouse did the paperwork while I was dealing with luggage and when I came to the desk to show the documentation that World Mastercard sent me, the clerk said everything was fine and that he didn't need to see it. No pain, no strain.
Old Jun 2nd, 2009, 05:15 AM
Original Poster

longhorn55-
Did they add a service fee for accepting the MasterRent CDW coverage?

Rick
Old Jun 3rd, 2009, 12:24 PM