Opryland horror??

Feb 9th, 2004, 11:27 AM
Original Poster

Opryland horror??

What's wrong with Opryland? I've never been there but may be going in June to a convention and the room will be paid for by my company. Is it the food, service or rooms? Should I stay someplace else? Thank you.
Feb 9th, 2004, 11:35 AM

It's been a few years for me, but our room at the Opryland Hotel was really quite nice. It was spacious and fairly nicely decorated (but very cheap furniture and fabrics).

The only thing I had a problem was I couldn't get a decent drink in any of their bars. I kept trying to order a Dewar's Dry Robroy (trust me, I'm an expert at what they should taste like) and I had to keep sending them back -- no resemblance to the actual drink. Finally I was told that all liquor in the bars comes in via tubes from a central point. Somehow whatever happens to the Dewar's beteen that storage point and my glass was sinful!! I had to switch to beer, which was actually in a bottle.

By the way, I despise country music and was practically dragged to Opryland, but I had a wonderful time there, and was surprised to find it isn't all about "country" and I even (blush with shame) ended up liking some of the country stuff too.
Feb 9th, 2004, 11:54 AM

Dancer: There were things I liked about he Opryalnd Hotle and things I didn't:

PRO

1) Room was very large and nicely decorated.
2) Staff was very efficient, nice and friendly.

CON

1) Hotel is so huge, I kept getting lost.
2) The drinks were fine but the food, especially Room Service, really sucked.

Hope this helps.
Feb 9th, 2004, 12:14 PM

I had supper there before the Grand Ole Opry show. We got lost. The place is HUGE. When I found the restaurant (nothing like a grumpy, hungry, lost person judging the waitstaff) I found the service exceptional and not hovering.

When my brother and sil went there they were given a map to their room at checkin.

I would plan to stay on site and bring orienteering gear.
Feb 9th, 2004, 12:15 PM