LA Experts Hotels Please advise !

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 26th, 2009, 06:34 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone, Planning a firstime LA visit this December. Any opinions on The Montage vs Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons ??? Then moving on to Santa Monica between the Fairmont
or The Georgian???
Thanks as always for the great insight,
jmw
Old Oct 26th, 2009, 09:33 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
I live in L.A., so I have limited experience in staying at the hotels listed.

The Montage is struggling. You should expect to see some serious deals on rates.

I like the classic Beverly Wilshire and the not-mentioned Peninsula. I like the Belvedere Restaurant in the Peninsula. I haven't stayed at Raffles, but I like its quieter location.

I stayed at the Fairmont a million years ago and would probably pick it over the Georgian, but I haven't stayed at the Georgian.
Old Oct 26th, 2009, 09:42 AM

I am not sure if you mean that you are deciding among all the above hotels or if you plan to stay at one of them for a few days and then move to Santa Monica...However, if you are going to be at only one of them and plan on seeing lots of different parts of LA, then there is a lot to be said for the location of the Beverly Wilshire.
Old Oct 26th, 2009, 09:58 AM

I've stayed at the Fairmont and have always had nice experiences there. Never stayed at the Georgian so I can't comment on it. I vote for the Fairmont.
Old Oct 26th, 2009, 10:00 AM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
I was going to say the same thing as socialworker, but he/she beat me to it, since both areas are within 5 miles of each other.

The Beverly Wilshire is historical and the exterior can be seen in a number of films -- most notably in recent years, "Pretty Woman". I have heard that the rooms are not large and may be a little tired.