Search

Prague Walking distance

Search this Thread

Old Oct 26th, 2003, 08:31 PM
djl
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Prague Walking distance

How far of a walk is it from the border of Prague 1/2, Navratolova St., to the old town square? Does anyone know?
Thanks,
DJL
Old Oct 27th, 2003, 12:48 AM

I don't exactly know the address you mentioned, but Praga is a small area which you can travel on foot. I think Praga 1 and 2 are less than 1/2 hours to reach if you know the direction because they have many narrow streets like a maze.
Old Oct 27th, 2003, 02:27 AM
Intrepid

Don't forget Prague has an excellent Metro system as well as many very easy to use tram lines. The "Old Town" area is fairly compact and easily walkable.

Old Oct 27th, 2003, 04:50 AM

If this is the street that is behind the New Town Hall area the distance does not look to be too great. I think walking is definitely the way to go. I am not good with distances but was in Prague the end of July and have my map so I looked. If you are defintely going to Prague soon I recommend getting Streetwise Prague map. I got it at a bookstore. It is a laminated map and very easy to use. Also, Prague has a good tram system and metro inside the city area where most of the site seeing is. Otherwise there is a bus system (which we rode one day) and it is good also. However, unless you are great at public transportation you should plan ahead or get advise from a local. Hope this helps. I loved Prague!!
Old Oct 27th, 2003, 05:06 AM
ira

Hi djl,

You can find an interactive map of Prague, with a scale, at http://www.interprague.com/maps/map_of_prague.htm
Old Oct 27th, 2003, 12:14 PM

I know that area because I've taken the tram several times near there -- there's a big stop at Lazarska for the tram which goes over past the national Theatre and across the river.
I would not walk to Old town Sq from there, but you could. I think it's over a mile, maybe about 12 blocks.
Old Oct 27th, 2003, 01:02 PM