Booking flights from US to NZ

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 6th, 2018, 02:03 PM
Original Poster

Received 19 Likes on 4 Posts

I am in the process of looking at flights from New York to Auckland NZ for the Christmas period this year. I put the dates in on Google Flights and there is a flight that would work leaving Dec 18th returning Dec 30th. It is a code-share United Air NZ flight. What is puzzling me is that if it is booked through United the fare is $ 2504 US, if booked through Air NZ it is $ 3217US. It does look like an Air NZ flight from San Francisco rather than an actual Unitled flight. Why is there such a difference in price, anyone know?
Old Apr 6th, 2018, 03:55 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
I don't know United / Air NZ - but I've seen this sort of thing with other airlines. Maybe Air New Zealand has sold out of the cheaper fare class. Plus different airlines do have different fares/fare strategies.

I'm not an expert and maybe on of the other more frequent fliers will have a better answer for you -- but like I said I've seem similar lots of times when searching for flights.
Old Apr 6th, 2018, 04:33 PM

Received 83 Likes on 5 Posts
Airline pricing structures baffle me to no end, so I can't shed any light nelsonian.

United only flies seasonally from the US to Auckland, but I doubt that has any bearing on the fares you're finding.

Christmas usually means higher fares, as you well know.

Keep your eyes open for Air NZ specials - we scored Premium Economy tickets on Air NZ several months ago for our upcoming flights from COS-SFO-Auckland-Queenstown, then returning from Christchurch - $1,800 each.
Old Apr 6th, 2018, 05:08 PM
Original Poster