The Matinecock Indians were the first inhabitants of what is now one of the North Shore's oldest and most charming villages. Originally known as Cow Harbor, Northport was incorporated in 1895. Victorian houses, some built by old sea captains, fill the scenic harbor area. The downtown shopping district is east of the harbor. Northport retains a rarity on Long Island, a true main street that runs through the heart of the village and still bears the original tracks of the trolley line, now defunct, built in 1902 to relieve town horses of the chore of meeting trains.
Looking back on eight decades on making travel history.More