Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

New York Theater "Little Women" and "Good Vibrations"

Old Jan 6th, 2005, 08:05 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Has anyone heard anything about "Good Vibrations". I see that it is opening the end of January and I wondered if anyone had seen a preview performance. Also what about "Little Women". I am planning a May trip to New York and I like Sutton Foster, but haven't heard too much about "Little Women".
Old Jan 6th, 2005, 08:24 AM

This is what I wrote about "Little Women" when I saw it in previews at Duke.

Author: ncgrrl
Date: 10/28/2004, 12:01 pm

Message: I went and saw "Little Women - The Musical" last night. I have no background in theater and read the book many years ago.

First, thanks to the folks here, because I missed reading about it in the newspaper and haven't seen any ads for it. I guess that's the same for other Durham residents because the show isn't a sell out.

As I was leaving I overheard a couple of people saying "good music, but I don't remember any of the lyrics". I'm not sure if that's a make or break because I don't know the lyrics to many shows.

Sutton Foster (Jo) is the main character. She does a great job with the role. I've never seen her work before, but she won a Tony award of "Thoroughly Modern Millie". She is the lead and all the other characters are in support of her. I wish Maureen McGovern (Marmee) had more to do in the production, but she does have solos in both acts. However, I really wanted her to sing the theme from "Ice Castles" but that wouldn't have been in keeping with the production.

The hardest role (for me) was Amy. If you're familiar with the book, she starts out as a bratty child and ends up married by the end. It's a hard role for the actress (sorry, I don't remember her name) because the actress looks like she's 13 and did bratty well.