Neat Pool-Oahu

Oct 7th, 2003, 08:25 PM
Original Poster

Neat Pool-Oahu

We are traveling to Hawaii in Nov and it is my first time. We will be on the island of Oahu. We will be getting in around 7 pm on the day of our arrival. We want to stay in a hotel with a neat pool to hang out in that evening. Do the pools stay open late? Any suggestions?? We are young and poor and want a moderately priced hotel. Also a casual dinner recommendation in the same area would be great.

Thanks
Oct 7th, 2003, 09:41 PM

Property in Waikiki (I assume that's where you will be staying) is very $$$$$$, therefore there aren't fantasy-type pools like you'd see on the neighbor islands. Hilton Hawaiian Village has the most elaborate pool area in Waikiki and it's not truly spectacular in comparison to Maui pools.

Some pools close really early, around 7:30PM (Sheraton, Moana, Royal Hawaiian Halekulani).

One of the bigger pools in Waikiki is at the Outrigger Reef but it does not have an ocean view.

Some pools are high up on decks (Marriott, Aston Waikiki Beach, Beachcomber, some of the Ohanas.)

I think you may be disappointed in the quality of Waikiki pools.
Oct 7th, 2003, 10:40 PM

I think above hotels push your price limits. Not sure of opening hours (ask them) but some econo hotels that seem built around pools as a centerpiece are the low rise super-located Breakers and Hawaiiana. Also Mark something on the far end of Lewers (towards canal).
Oct 7th, 2003, 11:21 PM

Ya know, being in Hawaii, a better spot to hang out is a beachside bar! never mind gazing out upon chlorinated water in a concrete setting.

You might enjoy the Shore Bird Beach Broiler, where you grill your own food in a nice semi outdoor setting.
Oct 8th, 2003, 12:06 AM

Yes, Viking is right. The pools I mentioned are located in hotels that are in the pricey category. I really can't think of any attractive pools in the budget range.