Search

Best Music Scene?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 24th, 2005, 05:52 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Best Music Scene?

Hey everybody. Since this is such a great forum for city info,just thought I'd throw this query out there.I'm a local musician in the SFLA. area and am looking to test my talents elsewhere.Although I dislike labels,I guess I'm a singer-songwriter,pop-rock,alt.country type and I've grown tired of the scene here.(really not much of one).I'm leaning toward Austin Tx.,but I'm open to any suggestions.BTW, has to be somewhat affordable.Thanks!
Old Jan 24th, 2005, 06:35 PM

Austin or Nashville. Nashville will be less expensive to live.
Old Jan 24th, 2005, 08:59 PM

Seattle's music scene is terrific-lots of good clubs (that treat you fairly) and a very supportive, close knit (despite its size) music community. We have a good indie pop/rock and alt-country scene-this is not the type of place where you find cover bands. You might try reading the music columns in our alternative weeklies at www.thestranger.com and www.seattleweekly.com to get a feel for it.
However, I don't know if Seattle counts as affordable or not.
Old Jan 24th, 2005, 09:22 PM
Original Poster

Hey christie1.How's it going? Thanks for the info. Will check out those sites. It's funny how the publics' perception of Seattle is automaticly grunge bands, but I'm sure theres'alot more going than that! An unfair label I'm sure. I have thought about Seattle but wasn't sure I could afford it. Seems to have everything you could want in a city. BTW,what about all the rain? Ha,Ha.. sure you never heard that before! Thanks again.
Old Jan 24th, 2005, 09:26 PM
Original Poster

christy1,forgot to ask about apartment rentals. How high?
Old Jan 25th, 2005, 10:15 AM