Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Another fun poll: Does anyone else plan trips as far out as I do??

Old May 31st, 2006, 07:11 PM
Original Poster

Part of it for me is that I'm a teacher, and I have to book in advance to get a good deal on flights on vacation weeks. But I already have all my trips planned for the next year, and everyone tells me I'm crazy!

Anguilla in June
Seattle in July
Maui/Kauai in August
Paris in February 2007
Las Vegas in April 2007

Yikes! Sometimes I fear that when the trips roll around, I won't be interested in them anymore (Of course, that's never happened!) Am I the only one who does this??
Old May 31st, 2006, 07:17 PM
emd

No, of course you aren't the only one, and it is smart to do it for sake of booking frequent flyer tickets (which can require 320-330 days ahead for international tickets- so if you were getting FF tickets for PAris you'd have to have them by now) and watching hotel prices or booking hotel rewards.

Not to mention it keeps me sane and motivated in many other ways to have a trip or trips to plan.
Old May 31st, 2006, 07:18 PM

I am also a teacher and I plan far in advance just like you do. Teaching is great and I love having all summer to travel. However, during the school year I can only take vacations on very specific dates which just happen to be the most popular travel times for families due to school breaks.

I get my lodging as far out as possible and get airline tix when prices look good. I have already reserved a condo for December 06 and an apt in Paris for July 07. Just getting started to find lodging for Spring Break 07.
Old May 31st, 2006, 08:10 PM

Well...I'm a teacher too, and you guessed it. I plan far ahead for the same reasons as the rest of you. I would probably do it anyway though.

St. John in 17 days
Seattle in late July
Maui in Feb 07
Rome in April 07 - just reserved the apartment.
Kauai in July 07

-Bill
Old Jun 1st, 2006, 05:39 AM