Family road trip Boise -> Grand Canyon. Need suggestions for side trips

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 13th, 2014, 11:13 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband, 8yr old son and I are taking a trip to the Grand Canyon. We are driving and have 8 days total to go from Boise to the Grand Canyon and home. We plan on maybe 2 or 3 days at the Grand Canyon, a day to drive there and a day driving home - but wonder where we should spend the other 3 days. I'm considering Lake Powell, Canyonlands National Park, Four Corners, Paria Canyon, etc... But - I have never been to most of these places and the few that I have seen was when I was 10, so I do not really remember what was there!

I would love to find places to stop along the way, maybe halfway to spend the night and maybe the day to tour around, then drive to the grand canyon...and the same on the way home...

Also, I am an amateur photographer and hope to get some good landscape photos during this trip!

I appreciate any advice you all can give!
Old Mar 13th, 2014, 11:46 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
I am leaving home just now so can't give a detailed response right now -- but others will I'm sure. BUT - on this sort of trip, 3 days at the Grand Canyon is 1 or 2 days too many. There is so much else to see/do -- unless one is hiking to the bottom of the Canyon you really don't need more than 1 night/1+ day (so to get a sunset and a sunrise)
Old Mar 13th, 2014, 12:00 PM
Original Poster

Janisj - Thanks! Good info to know!!
Old Mar 13th, 2014, 06:56 PM

You want to drive that far in one day?? It's almost 8 hours from SLC. That means 12-13hours from Boise. I would split it up. On the drive from SLC to GC, I have thought about/done stops in: 1. Kanab--see all the movie museum stuff.
2. Antelope canyon outside of Page
3. Glen Canyon Dam
4. Lees Ferry
5. Pipe Spring Natl Mon
6. Come back through Zion or Bryce

2 days at Grand Canyon is plenty, I agree with janisj.
Old Mar 13th, 2014, 09:03 PM