Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

Oaxaca - where are the great/good airfares?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 7th, 2004, 10:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been checking for a couple of months on airfares to Oaxaca for the first week in June from Denver, thru Mexico City. They've been around $500 - $550. I've checked the usual consolidators (travelocity, expedia, orbitz, bestfares.com, etc.) as well as Mexicana and Continental directly. Anyone know of even air/hotel packages or seen any great/good airfares?? Thanks in advance.
Old Apr 7th, 2004, 02:35 PM

That's a pretty good price. We flew from Durango, CO to Denver to LAX to OAX last Nov.and it ran in the $700's (Orbitz: Flying out of a small airport really adds $$, but we did it for convenience.) I think Oaxaca is just a bit further south, and not such a popular destination, and that really seems to "up" the price. I've read that there is good bus service from Mexico City to Oaxaca, and maybe just a DIA-Mexico City stint would be significantly cheaper. Anyway, Oaxaca is definiteiy worth it!! Have fun!
Old Apr 7th, 2004, 03:14 PM

Try site59.com. They have last minute packages and others.
Old Apr 8th, 2004, 04:53 AM

The fares you are finding are good ones. The problem is the short flight from Mexico City to Oaxaca is what really adds to the cost. If you want to save money and are willing, fly roundtrip to Mexico City then bus the six hours to Oaxaca. Look on the bright side- 15 years ago the best fare to Oaxaca I could get out of Billings Montana was $1200.00. I now routinely go from Houston in the $400-$600.00 range.
Old Apr 8th, 2004, 06:01 AM