Travelling alone

Apr 15th, 2003, 02:23 AM
Original Poster

Travelling alone

Does anyone have any hints on travelling alone in France (will be in Normandy, Paris and the south-west for two weeks)?

Any general tips, things to look out for etc. would be great - especially advice from people who've done it.

I HAVE travelled alone before - just not for the same length of time (usually just 3/4 day trips - Venice and Tokyo are my most recent).

Thanks!
Apr 15th, 2003, 06:55 AM

I have no personal experience to share but in planning for solo travel of my own, I found the Rough Guide books to be one of the best resources for finding the places where locals and other travelers congregate to hang out over coffee or cocktails. The Rough Guide tips on budget accomodations and travel methods (bus, hitching, hostels, camping etc) are not useful to me but they go into much greater depth than guides like Fodor's or Frommer's and often point out great little local spots that are of interest to the solo traveler.
Apr 15th, 2003, 03:08 PM

I looooove travelling solo. You can do as you please. Yes, there are times when a companion would be fun, but it's such an amazing experience to do it on your own. I often meet a lot more people when I'm solo.
Anyway, my advice would be to bring a journal or sketchbook so when you have some down time you can sit at a park or in a town square and capture your thoughts. It's a great way to soak in the culture and remember it all. I also like to bring a glue stick and small scissors with me so I can attach "found" objects like stamps or package labels to my journal. This is a great way to keep busy at the hotel at night after dinner. Hope this was helpful. And by the way I have travelled solo a few times before, all for a week or more. I have not been to France solo, so i apologize for no helpful hints there! Have fun.
Apr 15th, 2003, 03:37 PM