Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Should I plan on Venice or Florence for Easter weekend?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 27th, 2004, 09:47 AM
Original Poster

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I am just beginning to plan our first trip to Italy. We will travel next March 18th to March 29th. I would be happy doing Rome/Florence/Tuscany, but the family is insisting on Venice as well (I don't blame them; I just like a more relaxed itinerary.)So it looks like Rome/Florence/Venice flying in and out of Rome because we are using frequent flyer miles on US Air. So, are there any good reasons for being in either Florence or Venice Easter weekend? I figure I can arrange the trip either way so why not get the good advice of all you Fodorites? Thanks.
Old Jul 27th, 2004, 10:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There is a special rite in Florence on Easter Sunday. A cart containing fireworks is drawn to the front of the Duomo, and at a given moment, a dove (made of paper or whatever and lit) is set off to slide down a long rope. The hope is that the dove will set off the fireworks, which is supposed to be a good omen for the year to come.

I was there once to watch it; it was a dull and rainy day, and the dove went "pffft" and did not set off anything...
Old Jul 27th, 2004, 11:54 AM
Original Poster

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Well, that certainly sounds like a moment that defines "anticlimatic."
So, I guess you would not recommend planning my trip around being in Florence on Easter Sunday! Thanks for your reply.
Old Jul 27th, 2004, 12:07 PM

Suki,

I did not mean to discourage -- or encourage -- you but simply to tell you about what happens at Easter in Florence.

I was unlucky and it was a dull and rainy day; you might be lucky, get an Easter Sunday that is sunny and warm, and get to see an unusual event.
Old Jul 27th, 2004, 04:44 PM

Suki,

Things to consider for your planning purposes: