scusi or scusa?

Aug 29th, 2009, 09:58 AM
Original Poster

scusi or scusa?

I am just learning Italian and my Italian teacher told me that you should you use the formal "scusa" when talking to those you don't know, which will be everyone when I go to Italy! However, in the text book I am using (my class is finished now), and on several internet sites, it uses "scusi " in restaurants and stores. I don't want to insult anyone when I am there. I want to be correct. Is it safe to use "scusi " and the " tu " form with everyone or should I be sticking to " scusa " and the " voi " form?

Grazie!
Aug 29th, 2009, 10:16 AM

Perhaps you misheard your teacher?

Scusi is the formal form; scusa is the informal form.
http://www.garzantilinguistica.it/verbi_ita.html
Aug 29th, 2009, 10:19 AM

You should be using the formal, which would be scusi, and never addressing anyone you don't know as tu.
Aug 29th, 2009, 10:26 AM

I hear Italians saying permisso when they want to get past you, so I guess scusi means about the same thing? I always say scusi and they say permisso.
Aug 29th, 2009, 10:38 AM

This used to really confuse me because I had assumed that the -i form was informal, But I layer learnt that as it is an instruction, so the "imperativo" form applies - So "Scusi".
Aug 29th, 2009, 10:45 AM

Oh please! Scusi and permesso (NOT permisso) are not even similar. Permesso is exclusively used when, as you said, you want to go past somebody. Scusi simply means "excuse me" in every other situation, and as others said, scusi (formal) is related to Lei (NOT voi), and scusa (informal) to tu.