Rome to Naples?

May 3rd, 2012, 08:51 AM
Original Poster

Rome to Naples?

Hi... I am new to Fodors and was hoping you could help! My husband and I are traveling to the Amalfi Coast in August. We fly into Rome on the 11th..4 pm and need to make our way down to Naples........Our trip actually starts in Naples on a beautiful Sailing Yacht on the 16th in Naples...so we have that time to get down to Naples. My husband wants to go right away down to the Amalfi coast since we have never been there..we have been around Italy. We have heard of the speed train down to Naples..is there one? Whats best transportation to Naples? Also our friends tell us to go to the hotel Le Sirenuse, but that hotel looks a bit pricey and we don't have to spend that much money to experience the beauty of the Amalfi Coast. We could also go to other cities. Ravello?Paestum?..We will board the shipping vessel in Naples but we don't have to stay there..we could also rent a car??My thought was to spend the night in Rome and then the next day get on the speed train and go to one of the cities in Amalfi and go to one of these great hotels rent a car and explore? What do you think?
May 3rd, 2012, 09:35 AM

If you do the train there is no way to avoid going to Rome Termini from there you can get the express train to Naples.
There is also a bus from FCO (Romes main airport) to Naples and Sorrento.
You can also hire a car and driver or rent a card and drive
Those are the basic choices. I am sure others will chime in with prices etc.
May 3rd, 2012, 10:19 AM

To JoanneH- Are you sure there is a bus from FCO to Naples? I've been looking and I can't find one.
May 3rd, 2012, 12:46 PM
GAC

Here are your options:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic..._Campania.html

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic..._Campania.html