Search

Rome hotel

Search this Thread

Old Feb 16th, 2003, 03:21 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rome hotel

I've been reading a lot of good information on this board and just have one question so far.My husband and I are planning to be in Rome May 24th through the 28th. It sounds like the Cesari is a favorite hotel along with the Santa Chiara. Has anyone had any experience with the Grand Hotel Olympic? Good location, decent rooms, etc? It has a great price for two people but I can't find any reviews or the area that it is in. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old Feb 16th, 2003, 04:36 PM

I have not heard of the Grand Hotel Olympic and maybe others here haven't heard of it as well, therefore, you haven't gotten responses. I would select either of the two other hotels you mention-esp. the Santa Chiara.
Old Feb 16th, 2003, 05:34 PM

I have no personal experience with this hotel, however, here's the URL of a booking website with description, photos, and a map: http://www.smallandeleganthotels.com/Rome/Olympic.htm<BR><BR>It looks nice enough, and rates are reasonable for Rome. The location is near the Vatican, on the other side of the river from the main historic center. The other hotels you named are near the Piazza Navona, which is more or less right in the center of things.
Old Feb 17th, 2003, 03:15 AM

If you want a hotel in the historic centre of Rome, the Colonna Palace Hotel is the one. (4 star). No restaurant - we had breakfast on the rooftop) We stayed there for 2 weeks last year. It faces the Parliament Buildings, so no traffic passes by. Traditional hotel. So convenient - 5 minutes walk to all the major sites.
Old Feb 17th, 2003, 03:50 AM
Original Poster

Thanks everyone. The price on the Grand was $157US/night which made me wonder about it! I think we'll stick with the Cesari or Santa Chiara. Will also look up the Colonna. If anyone knows anything about the Grand I'd still like to hear from you! Thanks!