Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Rome & Venice Itinarary. Any suggestions?

Old Jun 29th, 2018, 01:55 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi everyone! I will be traveling to Venice and Rome Italy very soon in July. I have made an itinerary with things I am interested in seeing, however it is my first time going to Italy so I would like to ask others for their suggestions. In your opinion which are must sees and do you feel I could remove anything unncessary from my list? I realize that my itinerary is pretty packed. I will spend 5 days in Rome and 2 days in Venice. While there are many attractions in Rome, I have heard that Venice is more of an attraction as a whole...for this reason I did not spend a lot of time creating a Venice itinerary. If anyone has any suggestions on what to see or do in Venice for 2 days or what to eat, please let me know!! Thanks so much.

Rome Itinerary
Day 1:
Colosseum
Palatine Hill
Roman Forum
Capitoline Hill
Altare della Patria
Mercato di Campagna Amica

Day 2:
Trevi Fountain
Pantheon
Piazza Navona
Campo de' Fiori
Piazza Venezia
Via del Corso
Piazza della Repubblica

Day 3:
Vatican Museums
Vatican gardens
St. Peter's Basilica
St. Peterís Square
Castel Sant'Angelo
Trastevere

Day 4:
Borghese Gallery
Villa Borghese
Piazza del Popolo
Spanish Steps/Piazza di Spagna
Via dei condotti

Day 5:
Rome side trip- Tivoli Gardens (Villa d'Este)
Hadrian's Villa
Old Jun 29th, 2018, 03:00 PM

Sounds like a great trip. A few thoughts;

Mercato di Campagna Amica: may not be a permanent fixture and in any case, it is a small local farmer's market. If you are cooking you may enjoy this, but I wouldn't chase it down unless you're absolutely sure of the location and that you can use produce. There is good food shopping in Rome, in any case, in lots of stores and other markets.

Piazza Venezia
Via del Corso