Search

New Years Ideas

Search this Thread

Old Sep 23rd, 2003, 04:16 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Years Ideas

Hi all!
I would like your input on where in Europe to go for New Years. I'm thinking Paris, London, Munich, and Cannes. Any other ideas?
Thx in advance!
"Life is a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death."
Old Sep 23rd, 2003, 04:30 AM

I'm in Athens watching the going-ons in Syntagma square from the terrace of my room. I can't reccomend it, however, as it is my first time there.

London has the usual tackiness associated with Christmas, Cannes is very dull, and Munich is too quiet. Paris is quite pleasant. If you want fantatic scenery anywhere on the Neapolitan Riviera will suffice.
Old Sep 23rd, 2003, 04:31 AM

Forget all the others....go to Edinburgh.
It has the biggest organised Hogmanay (New Years Eve for all you non-Scots speakers) celebration in Europe, plus dare I say it, some of the friendliest and most 'up for a party' people you'll ever meet, and is a fabulous experience with up to 200.000 enjoying the celebrations.
You have to apply in advance though for a free pass as it's so popular. If I remember correctly the link is www.edinburghshogmanay.org

This should tell you everything you need to know...
Old Sep 23rd, 2003, 04:35 AM

Absolutely- Scotland!

It's where New Year was born.
Old Sep 23rd, 2003, 04:35 AM

Edinburgh can be cold and dry at best, and wet at worst.
Old Sep 23rd, 2003, 04:39 AM

Apologies...I forgot to mention that Edinburgh was actually in Scotland and not on a South Pacific Island with a constant temperature of 35?...
I'll try to do better next time.

Old Sep 23rd, 2003, 05:22 AM

I'd take London off your list since I don't believe anything special has been planned again.
Old Sep 23rd, 2003, 05:44 AM
AllyPally