Search

Money In Prague

Search this Thread

Old Oct 27th, 2010, 08:30 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Money In Prague

What should I know about money in Prague? Never been to Eastern Europe so I am a complete novice regarding money and would appreciate any help, advice, etc. Thank you.
Old Oct 27th, 2010, 08:35 PM

What's to know? The currency is the Czech Koruna. It works the same as money anywhere.

I think you should explain what your confusion is.
Old Oct 27th, 2010, 10:48 PM

We had no trouble getting Korunas with our debit card. Do go to the bank to do it tho, don't use the money changing places on the street.
Old Oct 27th, 2010, 10:58 PM

first point Prague is central Europe and further west than Vienna.
Use Czech Crown (Koruna Kc).I travel tpo the Czech republic on a regular basis (will be there this time next week) and I use ATM's whenever I need cash and have no problems whatsoever.I always let my bank know when I am travelling and they make sure my cards will be valid.
If chaging cash do so at banks or check very carefully the rates being offered at exchange booths they are very seldom what they seem.If using travellers cheques start crying now as you will lose out a lot on exchange rates as TC are almost obsolete in Europe these days.
Old Oct 28th, 2010, 12:33 AM

> check very carefully the rates being offered at exchange booths they are very seldom what they seem ..

To elaborate, the seemingly good rates shown in front of the booths are, for exmaple, for when you exchange a big amount like from €1000 so rarely applicable for most who want just a small amount. If you really have to use those booths, ask how much you would get before giving them your money.