Italian Days and Nights?

Search

Italian Days and Nights?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 10th, 2005, 10:23 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Italian Days and Nights?

I posted last week that my husband and I will travel to Italy in June, and asked questions about the Amalfi Coast. I have more questions! It seems that we will need to fly into Rome because our travelling companions want to attend a medical convention there. Fine, I love Rome. It is the only place in Italy I have ever been. My question is, what is the best way to get to the Amalfi Coast in June, based on experiences by people who have done it? My son says to take the train. But there are two couples and I want to see Ravello, Sorrento, Positano, etc. and I'm wondering if a car is unreasonable for some reason. Also, how long to stay in each town and/or which town to stay in? Obviously I am just beginning the planning and I need first hand advice. I am open to suggestions. I am the poster who is taking the trip to Italy because of a disappointing medical diagnosis and would like to see the beauty that Italy has to offer before I lose my sight (boy that sounds melodramatic, even to me). Is the Amalfi Coast the place to go??? Or are there other places in Italy I should see?Thanks you.
Old Jan 10th, 2005, 12:28 PM
Original Poster

tttttt
Old Jan 10th, 2005, 12:58 PM

Personally, I wouldn't rent a car. You can take a train to Naples and the Circumvisuviana to Sorrento. I would base myself in one place (my preference would be Sorrento, but many here will say Positano or Priano). It's easy to take busses or boats to the places you want to go.
Old Jan 10th, 2005, 01:12 PM

rbnwdln, sorry about the diagnosis and may you enjoy many wonderful sights in Italy.