Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Fodors travel books---do you recommend them?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 21st, 2004, 05:51 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have several books on Ireland that I hope to remember to take with me on my trip, and was wondering if the Fodors 2004 Ireland would be a worthwhile purchase? If not that, do you have any other recommendations? Thanks!!!!
Old Jan 21st, 2004, 07:03 PM

When I was a novice traveler to Europe I used Fodor's books exclusively. In recent years, thinking I know better, I have never used them. I prefer the Michelin Guides for places Michelin covers and the Eyewitness and Cadogan Guides. I find they are more honest and up to date than Fodors. And I love the pictorials in the Eyewitness Guides.
Old Jan 21st, 2004, 07:37 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I like the Eyewitness Guides for touring info. As StCirq says, the pictorals are great and they do a fantastic job of distilling the essentials for touring.

Ultimately we're talking about degrees of subjective distinction here. All the books mentioned so far are worth purchasing. That said, I have long since given up on relying on printed guides for dining/accommodations. This forum is a much better barometer for staying and eating out on holiday.
Old Jan 21st, 2004, 07:42 PM

I've found the Fodor Guide to Provence quite useful, although I no longer rely on any guidebooks for information on restaurants--too many changes. For hotels the Michelin red guides are invaluable.
Old Jan 21st, 2004, 08:04 PM

I like the Eyewitness Guides too. They get you feeling familiar with and excited about places you've not yet seen. They're light on details though.