excursions

Jan 11th, 2015, 11:16 PM
Original Poster

excursions

Is it better book them or to go it alone some of them are expensive,two trips civitaveccia for rome and livorno for pisa,any ideas please.mike
Jan 11th, 2015, 11:26 PM

Mike,, I am not quite clear.. where exactly are you visiting.

I book most of my stuff on my own.. and do my own daytrips etc. If and when I book a tour I always book directly with tour company.. not with a middleman booking agency like Viatour..

Are you coming in on a cruise( just realized that may be the case) .. if so .. please go to another forum I know about.. it is the best forum for cruising( I have been on quite a few of them myself, but not for europe)

cruisecritics.com..

Sorry I am not good at links.. just google for it..

The reason I advise this is because they have different forums for each cruise line. .and each ship , and each port.. so you can get SPECIFIC answers that will apply to your particular port of call. Plus sometimes people hook up with other people to share private excursions ( they are pricey)

One thing is.. if you are doing Civitavechia to Rome I would choose to do the ship sponsored one.. as if you miss the train and are late back to ship.. they will leave you.. if you are on the tour and bus is caught in traffic they will wait.. and its a long way between the two.. Rome is no where near the cruise ship port.
Jan 12th, 2015, 01:08 AM