Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Can anyone suggest great palces to eat in Rome?

Jan 28th, 2003, 12:02 PM
Original Poster

I am going to Rome in Feb for 6 days. I need some great restaurant suggestions! it is my first time there.
Jan 28th, 2003, 12:37 PM

Maybe not in the main tourist area but we had a great meal at 'Zeus'on Via Nazionale, just down from Termini. It was a great meal and always packed each night we passed.
Jan 28th, 2003, 12:55 PM

Depends on what you want to spend. Have eaten at Alfredo's (piazza Augusto Imperatore 30), Girarrosto Toscano (Via Campania 39) and a lot of small Trattoria's that have all been great. It's pretty hard to find bad food in Italy. For the more formal places make reservations.
Jan 28th, 2003, 02:08 PM

Good food,easy to order as english speaking person(bypass the english menu it reads like a childrens' one),many Italians eating all around us ..Ninno near the Spanish Steps. We ate here our 2nd night of our first trip to Italy.
Jan 28th, 2003, 02:19 PM
lafrancaise

Grappolo d'Oro in the Campo di Fiori. Great central location in a wonderful historic district close to the ancient monuments (walking distance) and a famous open market that has been around since the Middle Ages. I would even recommend staying in the Campo di Fiori - you can't beat the location and the unique feel of the place! Also, try Orso 80 up near the Pantheon - great local restaurant where food is served family-style in a comfortable, clean place.

Jan 28th, 2003, 02:43 PM

We were in Rome last May and ate at Fortunata de Pantheon following recommendations on this board. It was excellent. Almost everybody in the restaurant appeared to be locals and it was almost full until just before 11PM.

Location.
With your back to the Pantheon walk straight ahead and just to the right.
One block.
Jan 28th, 2003, 03:10 PM