Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

A little stressed about my Hotwire results!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 11th, 2009, 06:27 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So I've never used Hotwire before. I've considered it, but I'm a little too much of a control freak to actually book a hotel without being able to do the appropriate research.

Well, on a whim, I decided to give it a go this morning. I posted up earlier this week about two potential hotels in Dublin (either the Davenport or the Burlington) and thought I had my decision made. Geeeez, being a woman who changes her mind a lot is sometimes really difficult!

Anyway, I decided on a 3 and a half star hotel option on Hotwire.. and ended up booking the Jurys Ballsbridge Hotel. Has anyone ever been there? According to the maps I've been looking at, it's a little further from city center than I wanted, but it's too late now. Just how bad of a walk is it? Is the hotel reasonably decent? Just want it to be clean! I've read what people have posted on Tripadvisor, but I'm interested in hearing from you guys, if you know anything about it personally.

I'm considering using it for one night in Venice and one night in Milan in September, but I'm definitely going to wait until after Dublin! I met a woman in Greece last month who had fantastic luck with Hotwire and was using it to book an around-the-world trip. Do you use it? Do you recommend it?
Old Jul 11th, 2009, 06:45 AM

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Did you check for reviews on betterbidding.com?
Old Jul 11th, 2009, 10:43 AM

I've never used Hotwire. I'm like you-- a control freak. And my hotel location and style is very important to my travel comfort. So, I'd be afraid to roll the dice and get a place I don't know.
Old Jul 11th, 2009, 11:23 AM

Check on TripAdvisor.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Rev...ty_Dublin.html