Emigrating to Canada, help!

Apr 16th, 2005, 11:25 AM
Original Poster

Emigrating to Canada, help!

Hi everyone,
I have read many of your insightful messages about Canada and i think this kind of forum is a wonderful idea as i have been searching the internet & travel books about the fundementals of living and working in Toronto and its impossible! Anyhow, i have a bunch questions for everyone but i'll take it easy now that i'm a newbie...i'm living in Ireland and just received a year long work visa in Toronto, and i am apprehensive about the different neighbourhoods in which to take up residence in downtown toronto. I am looking for a nice lively area, thats pretty safe and that's not too demanding on the pocket, my max would be CA$1000 per month for a 1 bed apartment for 2 people, is that impossible in a good area? Ireland is so expensive at the moment that CA$1000 p/m (AKA 750Euro) wouldn't get you an apartment in the city centre...
Thanks everyone for your time and patience needed to read my ramblings....
Apr 16th, 2005, 02:44 PM

Hi Cat,

There's a few things to consider. Where is your new office located? Do you plan on having a car or using public transportation?

I will gladly do what I can to assist you so you can make an educated choice.

Cheers!
Apr 16th, 2005, 02:51 PM

http://www.math.toronto.edu/toronto/

Here's a great link with a ton a excellent info!
Apr 16th, 2005, 03:14 PM

Hello Catcurtin,

Although there are some posters here who live in Toronto, and you certainly can get good information about the city on this forum, the best forum I've found for relocation issues is British Expats at:

http://www.britishexpats.com/forum/

The British Expats forum has a few different sections. The two most useful ones are, I think, the Immigration section and the Lifestyle & Culture section.