Delta Online Booking Questions

Jun 14th, 2010, 07:20 AM
Original Poster

Delta Online Booking Questions

Two quick questions:

1. For my return leg I am seeing a ton of options on Kayak. However, when I go directly to delta.com those flights are not showing up. If I link directly from Kayak, then they do. Any reason why???

2. When do you get to select seats? This is for international travel occurring 9/1 and returning 9/12. I can see a ton of available seats (according to their website) and it says you get to select before purchase. However, when I select those flights it goes to the next step where it asks for traveler names and credit card information. I want to be sure seats are actually available before inputting my credit card information though and I don't want to call and pay a booking fee.

Any thoughts?

My apologies for my ignorance. This is my first time using delta.
Jun 14th, 2010, 01:34 PM

2. I think, and I am about 90% sure, if the seats are not available, you cannot pick them - so if Delta website allows you to choose the seats, they are yours.

The thing with Delta, the seats will be re-shuffled, so if you are buying coach there is no guarantee they won't move you.

It's been my experience, if I had a window seat, they would move me to another row keeping the window seat, or aisle seat - whatever I'd picked.
Jun 14th, 2010, 02:50 PM
Original Poster

Thanks Dayenu. The weird thing is that on other websites (AA, UA) they let you select the seats at the same time that you pay. Delta's website looks like you input all the CC information, get charged, and then maybe it pops up on another screen?

All the websites I checked for seats show my flights as being virtually empty at this point, but it is very important for me to select 2 seats next to each other (it's a 2-4-2 configuration and I want both of the 2s). Location on the plane isn't as important....probably prefer closer to the rear to ensure my luggage stays with me.
Jun 14th, 2010, 03:32 PM