Which DC neighborhood?

Feb 2nd, 2009, 08:54 AM
Original Poster

Which DC neighborhood?

I am visiting Dc in 2 weeks with my 2 kids on a whim, we visiting 3 years ago while my youngest was just 3 and know I think he will get so much more out of the trip.

Last visit we stayed at Marriott Metro Center and loved the location, but the price is just not a deal right now and I need a deal!!

I have a res on Embassy Row, but I am nervous that we are only there for a short time and dont want to spend all our time commuting on the Metro to the Museums, Mall area.

Should we consider the convention center area?? Should I stick with what I have - which btw is the Fairfax on Embassy Row - which has very mixed reviews on Tripadvisor.
I am going to try Priceline and have to select between Dupont Circle/Woodly Park, White House DT, and Convention Center/Cap Hill.

I am also sad -when we went up 3 years ago we couldnt get a white house tour and now again b/c I booked 2 weeks in advance there is no chance either - Congresswoman's office told me at least 30 days notice. Does anyone have another suggestion - my boys really want to get in there!!

TIA
Feb 2nd, 2009, 09:07 AM

You won't spend all your time commuting since you are still in DC. That is in a nice location. Go to www.wmata.com and use the trip planner or www.hopstop.com and put in some to and from info to get an idea how long it will take to get where you want to go.
Feb 2nd, 2009, 11:46 AM

These days White House tours are possible only through a Congressmenber's or Senator's office--and as you discovered, you must get your request in well in advance. Have you tried your senators' offices? I suspect that's your only chance. You might ask about waiting lists, too,

What about trying for a tour of the Capitol?
Feb 2nd, 2009, 12:09 PM