Vermont skiing suggestions

Old Feb 15th, 2008, 04:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vermont skiing suggestions

Hi all. We are considering a family ski trip to Vermont. We have been spoiled by two trips to Park City, but are used to skiing the Poconos, so we have realistic expectations re: powder, ice, etc.

My husband is very good, my kids are good and I am a beginner intermediate who likes long cruising trails that preferably don't often cross over expert trails.

We don't need nightlife, but some restaurants would be nice. Since we would save lots of $$$ driving v. flying, we would consider a ski-in, ski-out lodging expense. But we would consider a motel farther out so we could cancel at the last minute if conditions look like they would be pretty bad.

A brief review has me interested in Killington, Mt. Snow and Okema. What can anyone tell me about these re: trails, conditions, etc.

We don't want to drive too far (we're in Phila), so have ruled out NH & ME. Would be interested in hearing recommendations in NY state as well.

Thanks.
Old Feb 15th, 2008, 04:53 AM
bm

I would go with Okemo - it seems to fit what you want the best. It's a great mountain for intermediates - lots of long cruisers. Not a whole lot of difficut terrain.
Old Feb 15th, 2008, 05:41 AM

My husband and I are also Pennsylvania skiers. I agree with Okemo - huge, family friendly and lots of intermediate trails (not the terrifying kind). I haven't been to Mt. Snow but my husband really loved it there. We started going to Stratton together and that is also a really nice, well run hill. There are a lot of motels close to Stratton but I think Okemo and Mt. Snow are your best choices for ski in/out. Personally, I wouldn't do Killington. We're going to Stowe and they're approaching record snow fall so you should be ok condition-wise.
Old Feb 15th, 2008, 07:17 AM