Transportation between JFK and Brooklyn hotel

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 20th, 2011, 11:38 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm visiting NYC soon and plan on being frugal and taking the air train+ A train to my hotel (NU Hotel) in downtown Brooklyn (hoyt-schermerhorn stop). But I've never done this before. Is it a big hassle? I'll be alone and plan to have one large suitcase and carryon duffle bag. I arrive Saturday at 4pm @ JFK and will leave next Friday (flight @ 9am). For a 9am flight, I guess I have to leave the hotel around 6:30am. Will the train be very crowded? Are there a lot of stairs?

The last time I used public transportation to get to an airport was in Madrid and hated it.
Thank you.
Old May 20th, 2011, 12:45 PM

Unfortunately most subway stations have a lot of stairs - often 2 or 3 flights of steep steps. It's not something I would even consider with anything more than a carry-on I could easily put on my shoulder.

If you go to hopstop.com it will give you directions between any 2 spots in the city by foot, public transit, cab etc - including estimated time. Be aware that the time doesn;t take into consideration weather, accidents or construction delays.

How early you need to leave on Friday am depends on where your flight tis to and how early the airine wants you to check in. For intrnationa it is usually 3 hours, amd for domestic 2. I would think 30 minutes on the subway is cutting it very close.
Old May 20th, 2011, 12:49 PM

Just checked on hopstop - and it lists the trip from JFK to your stop at an hour on the subway.
Old May 20th, 2011, 01:57 PM
Original Poster

Thank you for the reminder to get there 2 hrs before the flight! I was thinking 1.5 hrs was ok.
Old May 20th, 2011, 03:21 PM