parking in NYC- day trip from Philly

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 17th, 2005, 05:00 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Does anyone know of a cheap, easily accessible parking area in NYC. I'm planning on a day trip on sunday and am a little unsure about driving in Manhattan let alone trying to find a good, central parking spot. We plan to spend most of our time window shopping mainly around 5th Ave, Rockerfeller Center areas. My girls will probably want to check out Times Square and Broadway area as well. We've been to the area a bunch of times so hitting all the touristy things isn't necessary. I mainly want to see NY at Christmastime! I know parking isn't cheap but an approximate cost would be helpful as well. Also- does anyone know anything about the bus that leaves from Chinatown in Philly and goes to NYC? I've heard it's cheaper but don't know details. Thanks to all.
Old Nov 17th, 2005, 06:14 AM
blissa

Hi terric-
I am a Manhattan resident and can offer some general information here.
You're right parking in midtown will be expensive.
If you drive:
The "Trump" Lot is an outdoor parking lot on the West Side, around 59th or 60th St and 12th Ave which has cheaper daily rates. I used to park my car there monthly. They have a shuttle bus that can take you into Midtown. And taxis aren't difficult to find there, either.

There are also lots on 57th St between 9th and 10th, 40th between B'way and 7th, and several others, but I recommend staying away from the center with a car at Christmastime, because it's a madhouse!
You are better parking a bit uptown and taking public transportation to see the sights.

As for the "Chinatown: buses, I have taken these buses several times between NYC and Baltimore. The two companies I use are called "Dragon Coach" and "Double Happiness" and they have pick up and drop of destinations around Herald Square.