Search

Northern Lights - Fairbanks, AK

Search this Thread

Old Dec 3rd, 2012, 11:45 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Northern Lights - Fairbanks, AK

Hello,
Traveling to AK by mid of March for 10 days. Main motive is to view northern lights. Will be landing in Fairbanks. Chena hot springs is totally booked. Can you please suggest other accommodations a bit far from the city lights to have a good view of northern lights?
Cheers,
Geetha
Old Dec 3rd, 2012, 06:03 PM

Bettles Alaska is supposedly the single best place to view it. I haven't been myself. Chena is usually considered #2, but it is much easier to get to(I think).
Old Dec 3rd, 2012, 06:41 PM

I am far from an expert on this, but have been to Bettles. There isn't much there at all. It will cost nearly $350 pp r/t to fly there from Fairbanks.

If I were you, I would ask Chena Hot Springs for other recommendations.
Old Dec 4th, 2012, 03:18 AM

I was strictly speaking seeing the Northern Lights. From what I've read, I can't imagine staying a couple of days in Bettles, much less 10.
Old Dec 4th, 2012, 07:18 AM

spiro--I suggest going and experiencing it for yourself instead of just reading about it. The area is amazing!!!!! The residents of Bettles are probably the nicest you will meet anywhere. Granted, the town itself isn't a draw, but get just a few miles from there and it is pure heaven. BTW, we saw an aurora on our fist night after hiking in to our relatives cabin way up in the bush.
Old Dec 4th, 2012, 08:01 AM

I apologize for not expanding for the OP. I was trying to say that Bettles is expensive to get to if you only want to go to see the northern lights. If you want to explore the area further though, it is priceless!!! I am sure the locals can give you much better information that I can. You might also check on Trip Advisor as the Alaska forum is full of great posters that know the areas really well.
Old Dec 4th, 2012, 01:20 PM

mms,