maui budget

Old Mar 31st, 2005, 12:00 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
maui budget

Hi. I was wondering if anyone who has been to Maui could share on what a week is going to be. I will be there in march of 2006 to stand in a wedding. My only problem is I have a bachelorette party in Vegas in June, a wedding in Portland in Sept.,and a wedding in Cancun in Nov. on top of the wedding in Maui. I am trying to figure a budget right now so I know how much to set aside per month. I hear Maui is expensive, but how much. I was also wondering when would be the best time to start booking things to save money. Also, those of us in the wedding party are thinking of renting a condo or house, is that cheaper to do then finding a little hotel somewhere? Thank You.
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 12:32 PM
KVR

We went Feb. 2003. We took $2,000 in spending money. We spent approx. $1,600 of that on food/drink. Our hotel included daily breakfast and 2 dinners. We did not eat any place fancy except the Planation Inn, which we had a $50 gift certificate and even with that applied we still spent $120.00 of our own money. Food/drink os very expensive. That's why most people recommend condos with kitchens and cooking in most meals.

Wepre-booked ourexcursions on-line 3 months prior to leaving and it came to another $1,000.
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 01:17 PM

Sharing a condo is a good idea (or even rent several units in one building, or a house), you can save on meals and have more room. There are TONS of reasonably priced condos on Maui. We stayed at the Kihei Surfside near Wailea for around $125/nt, nice place, sits on the shore, and a one minute walk to the beach next door, and each unit has a terrific view. We used www.crhmaui.com.

You don't have to spend $100 on dinner everynight, there are plenty of cheap places to eat, in fact, you can do a search here for cheap maui dining and you'll come up with a few lists.