San Francisco walking tour, public transport

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14th, 2005, 11:34 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I posted this in what I thought was the CA section, but it didn't land there. This is my second try. I apologize for my duplication if anyone ran across it.

My husband and I are planning a mid-May trip, with 4 days in Yosemite pre-crowds, an overnight in Santa Cruz, then 4 days in SF. Our time in SF will be spent on foot, and I'm looking for suggestions of a good walking tour book of the city -- small but detailed.

We've had some favorite books, depending on where we go. Moon books served us well in Mexico, Rick Steves was great in the Europe countryside, Insight was nice in big-city London and Paris. What's the best for SF?

We're freaks for architecture (Pacific Heights, etc) and I have a degree in sociology (Haight-Ahsbury, the Castro), so you can imagine what we're after. Yeah, we'll buzz by the Wharf and have ice cream with the sea lions just because we've never done SF, but for the most part we want the real deal.

I'm also wondering how to trim costs on public transport. Is there a multi-day pass that will give us unlimited cable car/bus/train rides? We're staying at The Cornell Hotel between Nob Hill and Union Square, and our only trek outside downtown will be the airport.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!
Old Mar 14th, 2005, 03:19 PM

San Francisco City Guides offers over 30 free walking tours each month. They are sponsored by the SF Public Library. There are many architecture walks. My wife is one of the volunteer guides, and she does the Victorian San Francisco, and the Landmark Victorians of Alamo Square tours. She is one of several guides who do these tours. See
www.sfcityguides.org