Search

Landing in SF - Need help!

Search this Thread

Old Apr 5th, 2003, 05:48 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Landing in SF - Need help!

Hi,
Next month (May), my husband and I will taking our first trip to the west coast. We have nine days, including travel (so I guess it's really 7 days to enjoy). A few questions: 1)we're planning to rent a convertible (trying to regain our youth).Will we be freezing? 2)We're landing in SF and I guess we'll stay there 2 or 3 days but there's a lot I want to see, so maybe you could help us with the plans. Here goes: I'd like to visit Napa Valley, San Simeon, some giant redwoods, Big Sur. Also from what I'm reading, Santa Barbara and Monterey sound nice. But we have to be back in SF on the 8th day (or night) so we can leave on Day 9. By the way, I'm a nervous driver - so I'd like to avoid any scary roads. Thanks for you help.
Old Apr 5th, 2003, 07:23 PM

Check the weather on the internet. In April, you will need a thin jacket. Around Napa and San Simeon, it is warmer. I have never been to San Simeon, but Santa Barbara is warm.
Old Apr 5th, 2003, 07:33 PM

You really need to post this question closer to the date - normally May is very nice in all the places you will be (maybe top up temps along the coast) - but "normal" is not necessarily what you will get. A few days before your trip the long range forecasts will be pretty accurate and will give you a better idea what to expect.
Old Apr 5th, 2003, 07:52 PM

GeriD,

Just a couple suggestions.

1. SF is one of those cities best visited without a car. Traffic is difficult (especially for visitors) and parking is very expensive! For those reasons, it is best to not have the car when you're staying in SF.

Depending on your flight arrival time, why not pick up your rental car and head south to hit as many of your desired areas as possible. You could easily see Big Sur, Monterey, San Simeon, and some redwoods in 4 days/3 nights.