Kenai Peninsula guidance

Search

Kenai Peninsula guidance

Search this Thread

Old Feb 21st, 2006, 12:45 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Kenai Peninsula guidance

We are planning a trip to the Kenai Peninsula August 25-September 2. Trying to decide if we should pick base location (Cooper Landing area or another area if anyone has a suggestion) and travel daily to Homer and Seward from there (can anyone tell me how long a drive it is from Cooper Landing to Homer) or split our time in Homer (3 days) and Seward (3 days) with additional night in Girdwood. I'm a bit concerned about things I've read regarding traffic in Homer. We are mostly interested in wildlife viewing (via land and sea), however I would like to do a Halibut fishing excursion one day. (I am a total novice and am looking for suggestions on a patient captain - I will be going alone as my traveling companion is not interested in fishing.)

I'm trying to finalize our reservations - any help anyone can provide will be greatly appreciated. This will be our third trip to Alaska, but the first on our own. (Cruised the Inside Passage on our two previous trips.) Thanks!
Old Feb 21st, 2006, 01:10 PM

Personally, I'd split my time between Homer and Seward. There's a good deal to do in both towns.
Old Feb 21st, 2006, 02:17 PM

Click on your name and read answers to your almost identical post.

I have no idea what traffic in Homer you are talking about. We visited Homer dozens of times and I still don't have a clue what traffic you are referring to.

Splitting time between Girdwood, Seward and Homer sounds just right
Old Feb 21st, 2006, 07:55 PM
Original Poster

Thanks Pat. I'm a novice at a lot of things, including this site. I couldn't find my original posting and reposted. Anyway, thanks for the help and advice on my other posting.

Glad to hear the traffic isn't an issue.
Old Feb 22nd, 2006, 11:25 AM
jq