Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > United States
Reload this Page >

Is it possible to get cheap last minute airfare for this weekend?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 4th, 2002, 03:29 PM
roxanne

I've never tried this before, but do airlines reduce the rate at the last minute to fill up the plane? We're trying to go to DC before a job switch. We tried hotwire and got $264 but they don't give times and we have a one yr old and she can't handle a long layover or two. Anyone have any ideas?

Old Sep 4th, 2002, 03:40 PM
Mel

Try smarterliving.com. They compile (and email, if you request it) a weekly list of internet fares reduced for the coming weekend. You can search for deals from the airport closest to you. Click on the <Air> button at the top, then on the next page you'll see a drop down menu on left titled <Last-Minute Fares>. Good luck.

Old Sep 4th, 2002, 03:41 PM
grasshopper

try www.ual.com and look at efares.

Old Sep 4th, 2002, 03:43 PM
Mel

Forgot to mention it is a list based on offerings from the major carriers - Southwest, for example, is not included.

Also, these deals tend to get taken pretty fast (they're generally published on Wednesday mornings) and you have to fly on specific days/times in order to get that fare.

Old Sep 4th, 2002, 03:46 PM
Liz

www.digitalcity.com
is another place to look.

Old Sep 4th, 2002, 04:57 PM
roxane

Thank you for your prompt replies. No luck yet

Old Sep 5th, 2002, 08:04 AM
FrugalFred

Watch for flights to Baltimore - Washington International (BWI) too. It's only about 30 mi from DC and can be reached by public transportation.

Mel's suggestion about Smarter Living is good, and it DOES list Southwest Airlines too.

Old Sep 5th, 2002, 08:20 AM
herewegooooo

try www.continental.com and www.delta.com for last minute specials also! They always have weekend webfares.

Old Sep 5th, 2002, 08:25 AM
lawren

try www.skyauction.com. They have a section for "last minute" flights on major airlines.

L