Is BestFares.com worth the $$

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 5th, 2004, 03:43 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am considering purchasing a year of the Bestfares.com website. We travel quite a bit and on the surface they seem to be worth the $$. Does anyone out there use them and are you happy with their service? Thanks!
Old Jan 5th, 2004, 04:30 PM

I subscribed to the magazine a few years back after hearing an infomercial broadcast while driving. I must say I found it to be useless and basically, Tom Parsons just full of hot air.
Old Jan 5th, 2004, 05:27 PM

Have to agree with the previous poster - I let my membership lapse because they never offered anything better than I could get myself.
Old Jan 5th, 2004, 07:04 PM

There have been other posts on this subject. I have no personal experience, but the general agreement has been to forget it.
Old Jan 5th, 2004, 07:22 PM

i have been a member for several years and it has paid for itself many times over. Do a search to get everyone's comments.
Old Jan 5th, 2004, 09:44 PM

Here is a list of some of the deals I have gotten off of bestfares over the past few years that I can think of off-hand:

$89 ($58 fare + $41 tax/fees) ROUNDTRIP from Houston to NYC - one month's notice.

$320 ROUNDTRIP including all fees from Austin to Maui - 2 month's notice

$62 ROUNDTRIP + tax/fees from San Antonio to Cleveland

$179 + fees RT from Dallas to Honolulu on United

$19 ROUNDTRIP from Dallas to Nashville

$49 hotel room in French Quarter on Bourbon St. - normally $200 (Crescent something?)

$108 ROUNDTRIP incl. fees/tax from Houston to LA.

$229 ROUNDTRIP + approx. $100 gov. taxes from Dallas to London

$138 RT ($150 incl. tax) Dallas to Denver

$111 RT + taxes from Austin to NYC

$89 RT + tax to Atlanta

PT Cruiser rental in LA 5 days for $75

Caribbean cruises starting at $249 regularly

$129 per night for a B&B in Lahaina, Maui w/in-room hot tub.