Search

Hudson River Valley

Search this Thread

Old May 28th, 2005, 02:27 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hudson River Valley

I'm just beginning to plan a fall trip to the area (my husband has some business at Bard College, so I figured good excuse to explore an area we don't know). Would appreciate in-put from folks who know the area well. We'll be training up from Wilmington. I wonder whether we should, e.g., stop at Poughkepsie first. Is that area particularly handsome, or should we just head on up? I've got a couple of brochures-- but would be more interested in personal feedback than in chamber of commerce descriptions. where, for instance, are the terrific places to stay in the Hudson Valley? What's the best hiking? etc. We like outdoors things--not interested in shopping. Thank you!
Old May 28th, 2005, 02:42 PM
J62

Bookmarking for future reference. In short, no, if you are taking the train no need to stop in POK, you can explore the area easily from a base at Bard.

I'll come back and comment when I have more time. (hence the bookmark)
Old May 29th, 2005, 04:13 AM
J62

Poss,

Let me give you a little lay of the land in Mid Hudson River Valley. The best way I know to describe it is a mix of 50% very rural suburbia, 40% rural farmland, 5% commercial, 3% small village and 2% old city of Poughkeepsie.

With that mix you get many very scenic drives, lots of open space, but very few actual destinations. Poughkeepsie, bless it's heart, is nothing more than an a small, old NY residential/ industrial city, or more like a town. Local sustaining industry has waxed and waned over the years, with no strong, broad base today since IBM scaled back operations drastically in the mid 80s. Residential neighborhoods were mostly built earlier last century and many have seen better days.

The entire county population is only 300k in an area not that much smaller than the state of Delaware. I exagerate a little, but not much.