Help! Going to San Diego/La Jolla, CA - need advise on hotels

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 6th, 2003, 06:42 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I will be going to San Diego/La Jolla area the last week in October. We are considering staying in La Jolla at the Best Western near the beach or in Del Mar on Camino del Mar road. Will be visiting the Zoo, Old Town, Seaport Village, would like to tour naval ships if possible. Don't want to stay in Missiion Valley or Hotel Circle. We are renting a car. Really need R & R, we enjoy walking, sightseeing and sunsets. I am an amateur photographer. Don't want to spend over 120.00/nite if possible. I keep hearing about bidding for travel and wondered if anyone has had good experiences using them. Any ideas, tips and advice would be most appreciated!
Old Aug 6th, 2003, 09:02 PM

We stayed at the Empress for $95 a night.
Old Aug 6th, 2003, 09:07 PM

That was on Travelocity.com in LaJolla. I got some great photos of the seals and sunset there.
Old Aug 7th, 2003, 02:41 AM

I live in SD. I suggest you not stay in Del Mar because you will spend a lot of time driving. Sounds like you want to sightsee. If not a La Jolla hotel you might think about downtown which would be easy access to the places you mentioned you want to visit. There are two Holiday Inns on Harbor Drive I think. Easy walk to Seaport Village; you could also take the ferry across to Coronado. I also like the location of the Empress in La Jolla. Easy walking from this hotel to everything in La Jolla. I'm not familiar with the Best Western, but anything in La Jolla should be okay. Have a great trip.
Old Aug 7th, 2003, 04:25 AM