Helicopter or Air Plane

Old Aug 7th, 2008, 07:40 AM
Original Poster

Helicopter or Air Plane

My husband and I (both seniors) will be vacationing for our 40th wedding anniversary in Hawaii in two weeks. 3 nights Honolulu, 4 in Kuai and 4 in Maui. Where would you recommend to take a helicopter tour and what is the difference between helicopter and airplane. The airplane is half the price but is the experience better with a helicopter. Also, for Luau, Fiest at Lele or Old Lahaina. Any recommendation, restaurants, etc. is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much.
Old Aug 7th, 2008, 08:25 AM
GoTravel

An airplane has to keep moving to stay in the air.

A helicopter can hover over sights you want to see.

Old Aug 7th, 2008, 09:33 AM

I am a fixed-wing pilot, but I enjoyed the helicopter tour of Maui with Blue Hawaiian Helicopters. I have given many, many "scenic rides" in fixed-wing aircraft and there is no contest...helicopters are best.
Old Aug 7th, 2008, 12:35 PM

I have been on both types of tours (helicopter in Kauai and airplane from Maui to Big Island).

The helicopter can fly much lower for one thing. Some helicopters even fly without doors attached (this means you will have better pictures with no window glare).

In my opinion the helicopter is worth the extra money although I feel it's not as safe as an airplane.

Either way you should be happy with the tour though!
Old Aug 7th, 2008, 12:45 PM

We've done a fixed wing trip on the BI and helicopter trips on Maui and Kauai. I enjoyed the helicopter flights better since they can hover and being an ametuer photographer....loved being able to shoot pic sitting still.

We however will be taking a fixed wing flight this year in Kauai with Wings Over Kauai for a different perspective.
Old Aug 7th, 2008, 05:56 PM

I'll have to add another option to your list. Check out. www.birdsinparadise.com

I haven't done this yet, but it is high on my list.
Old Aug 7th, 2008, 06:56 PM