Frustrating Scottish Check

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 12th, 2023, 12:54 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My bank won’t cash my check because it’s under $200. I don’t know how to cash it. Can anyone help me? It’s a Scottish check but made out in USD, not pounds.

thank you
Old Sep 12th, 2023, 05:39 AM
P_M

Is it drawn on a US bank or a UK bank? You called it a Scottish check, but I've seen foreign checks with a US bank involved. If it's drawn on a foreign bank with no US bank involved, then it is more tricky, but a full service bank should be able to handle it.

I worked in banking for 11 years but that was a long time ago. We handled foreign checks on a regular basis. Back in the day we sent those for collection, but surely there's a better way now. Talk to a manager and if necessary, find another bank to help. You might have open an account, but you don't have to keep it forever.

Last edited by P_M; Sep 12th, 2023 at 05:43 AM.
Old Sep 12th, 2023, 08:24 AM

Scam alert. First post - asking for help cashing a check. Hard pass.
Old Sep 12th, 2023, 10:06 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by nylilly
Scam alert. First post - asking for help cashing a check. Hard pass.
Jury's out. He's not asking you to cash it . . .

Originally Posted by rennykrez
My bank won’t cash my check because it’s under $200. I don’t know how to cash it. Can anyone help me? It’s a Scottish check but made out in USD, not pounds.

thank you
Welcome to Fodors. One problem is if it is a small amount, the fees a bank will charge you could make cashing it impractical. I'm curious how you ended up with a £ check. If it's a refund for something you bought, they would normally put it on the card used. Or - are they paying you for goods or services.

Now . . . If it is a personal check/cheque from a friend or relative -- what I would actually do is ask them to cancel the check and send you a e-gift card (preferably in $$)
Old Sep 12th, 2023, 02:47 PM