Dulles to Charlottesville

Jun 3rd, 2010, 05:52 PM
Original Poster

Dulles to Charlottesville

We have a family wedding in late June in Charlottesville. We are flying into Dulles and have a couple of days before the wedding events then a day after to get back to Dulles. I was thinking of spending one day doing the Skyline Drive to Charlottesville then the next day seeing Monticello. Then on the way back going through Fredericksberg & perhaps Manassas. One question is we are from Colorado would Skyline Drive be a let down? Too busy in late June? We are 2 teen boys & Dad with history & baseball interests, Mom would do the wine/antique/shopping tour & 21 yr old daughter is an equestrian. I would love to see the ocean but that looks too far. Is there anything cool on the Cheasapeake?
Any suggestions? Anything very special that seems to fit our varies interests?
Jun 4th, 2010, 03:05 AM

I'm not really an expert on Skyline Drive, but I live in Fredericksburg and am sure that you will enjoy your stay here. Here are some suggestions for you:

Civil War Visitors' Center on Sunken Road and Lafayette Street, along with walking tour of the Sunken Road wall behind which the Southern soldiers defended themselves at the Battle of Fredericksburg.

Then go to Kenmore, a Revolutionay-War era mansion which belonged to George Washington's sister's family.

Then visit the downtown area, which is nice and has a lot of little shops, particularly antique shops.

Then go across the Rappahannock River to Chatham mansion, which was the headquarters of the Northern army during the Battle of Fredericksburg, and also an interesting house in its own right. See where Northern doctors did surgery on soldiers wounded in the battle.