Barbuto Restaurant/NYC

Old Feb 4th, 2006, 04:53 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Barbuto Restaurant/NYC

Has anyone eaten here? It was recommended to us, but was looking for more opinions.
Old Feb 4th, 2006, 05:15 AM

The ratings in the Zagat guide aren't very impressive. Out of a possible 30, food=19
decor=16
service=15

I usually look for food ratings over 20.

Oddly, the written review sounds better. "In crowd" "cool industrial space" "well-executed greenmarket menu that's not the typical boring pasta." "Spotty service."
Old Feb 5th, 2006, 04:15 PM

Barbuto has a very well-known chef, Jonathan Waxman, and I have heard good reports about the food; price is moderate for quality. I have no first hand knowledge as I have yet to eat here.
Old Feb 7th, 2006, 06:41 AM

I should elaborate. Jonathan Waxman was the head chef at Chez Panisse years ago. This place got excellent reviews in the local press when it opened. Thanks for reminding me about it!
Old Feb 7th, 2006, 07:08 AM

also check reviews on menupages.com. they are similar to zagat.
Old Feb 7th, 2006, 07:58 AM

Actually there are many more positive reviews on menupages than negative ones and the negative ones that I read concerned dinners with ten or more people in a private room. NO, I do not work for the restaurant but while we are on the subject, I do not put much stock in the menupages reviews. Nor in those on citysearch. Just for the record!
Old Feb 7th, 2006, 08:11 AM

I actually find menupages to be more on target than zagat. I think zagat is more of a popularity pole, while menupages is more 'realistic'. I use menupages frequently to look for new places, and I cross reference with Zagat and NY Times reviews. I also like being able to of view the menu. I don't use citysearch. If I am looking for something very specific, I'll also check chowhound.
Old Feb 7th, 2006, 02:20 PM
Original Poster

Thanks for the help. I'm eating there in 2 weeks. I'll report back.
Old Feb 7th, 2006, 02:52 PM