Search

Austin experts need help with hotel ideas

Search this Thread

Old Apr 11th, 2012, 11:18 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Austin experts need help with hotel ideas

Seeking:
a hotel for a March visit which would be suitable for a small social reunion of friends. Group would require about five rooms all with two beds. Would like a good level of security, easy access to restaurants and shopping (prefer not to have to rent cars), and comfort. Lake Austin spa and Travaasa look quite lovely but the price is too high. The Driskill looked pretty good, but the price is still well over $200 a night. Something like the Kimpton chain would be a good option. Any suggestions?
Old Apr 11th, 2012, 12:53 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
cmcfong, I am no expert having been to Austin only once but it has such a small downtown that it seems that any of the chain hotels would suit your purpose. The Four Seasons, I know, is very nicely located. I used Priceline and ended up at the Sheraton which was around 12th Street and we walked everywhere. The hotel was just fine too.
Old Apr 11th, 2012, 01:32 PM
Original Poster

Thanks a million, Suki!
Old Apr 11th, 2012, 04:04 PM

While the Lake Austin spa is lovely, it is way out at the end of Lake Austin. not convenient for downtown or touring or good without a car. it is a true destination spa.

I also really like the Four Seasons.
Old Apr 11th, 2012, 05:01 PM
Original Poster

Thank you.
Old Apr 11th, 2012, 07:11 PM

About a year ago, I stayed at the Embassy Suites on South Congress. It was convenient to the South Congress shops and fun restaurants and food trucks.

IMHO, Embassy Suites are good choices for trips like yours because the rooms provide space for the couples to socialize, have food and drinks in the room if desired. Also, the property provided a free shuttle bus to an area which was within a reasonable radius.

I am staying at the Sheraton Downtown next month for three nights and will report back.