Search

Airfare secrets/Places to stay

Search this Thread

Old Jun 15th, 2006, 08:19 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Airfare secrets/Places to stay

Hi
I need to know if any of you savvy world travelers know any secrets for low airfare. I'm in Texas and would like to fly to NY near the 1st part of August. Also, what's the best way to stay for less. I am a student, thus, I am extremely low on cash. Any suggestions would be Godsend.
Old Jun 15th, 2006, 09:53 PM

From TX, hmmm? How did you vote in the last election?
Old Jun 15th, 2006, 10:12 PM

Priceline.com has always worked great for me for getting great hotel deals. Go to BiddingForTravel.com to learn how to use Priceline effectively.

Andrew

Old Jun 16th, 2006, 02:23 AM

kayak.com
mobissimo.com

are good places to look for airfare. Then buy direct from the airline. Flying on a weekday vs. Fri/Sat/Sun often (but not always)is cheaper. Be very careful about using Priceline for airfare. I don't think they include taxes in the bid price which can be significant. Times of flights can also cause you to lose 2 days. Priceline is great for hotels though. YOu can get a 4* hotel for as little as $100/night plus tax. Works best for shorter stays.

There are also hostels. Some have private rooms in addition to dorms. There are also plenty of places (inns, b & bs and hotels) with shared baths that are much cheaper. The Larchmont is a decent hotel in Greenwich Village (near NYU) with all shared baths. Reviews for most hotels on tripadvisor.com. Don't stay anywhere without checking there first.
I hope you're over 21. Many hotels don't allow under 21s.
Old Jun 16th, 2006, 06:59 AM

Use travelocity's fare watcher feature - it lets you know the cheapest fair available, although it might not apply to your dates.

I'm really liking www.airfarewatchdog.com - we were recently alerted to some great tickets to Orlando through this e-newsletter.
Old Jun 16th, 2006, 07:24 AM