Windsurf in Rio or Buzios?

Old Jun 29th, 2007, 11:04 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Windsurf in Rio or Buzios?

I posted this message yesterday, but it never appeared on the forum. So here it is again (my apologies if I am mistaken and this is a duplicate.) Has anyone been windsurfing in Rio or Buzios? I am a beginner, so I am hoping I can find a spot that is not too challenging. I have had a few lessons, and now I am going out when I can to practice. If it is possible, I would love to take a lesson while I am in Brazil. I looked at some online sites with information about Buzios, but they recommend one beach for windsurfing because it has big waves (!?) I am definitely not ready to sail in big waves.
I will be there in August, so I know the water will be a bit chilly.
Any advice?

Old Jun 29th, 2007, 03:16 PM

I went wind surfing in Buzios quite a few years ago -- off of Ilha Rasa. (Rasa Island.) There was a lovely island pousada there called Nas Rocas, but I don't believe it is open anymore. It was an ideal place to windsurf and the waves were not that big. There is a Pousada right on Rasa Beach called Pousada Praia Rasa. Perhaps it would work out for you there.
Here is the URL
http://www.praiarasa.com.br/
Old Jul 1st, 2007, 06:07 PM

Thanks, Jill. I checked out the web site....what a beautiful place! I will look into Rasa Beach. Any other suggestions for my time in Buzios?
Elena
Old Jul 2nd, 2007, 10:49 AM

hi, yeah, go diving, rent a beach buggy and go and explore all the various coves, bays and beaches off the beaten track, enjoy the great night life, check out arraial dos cabos and cabo frio, the first especially for snorkeling and diving. Rio will be tougher for windsurfing as ocean waves. How long are you spending in each place. Like a bit of action? Go hang-gliding in Rio. It's fab.
Old Jul 2nd, 2007, 10:53 AM

hi,although the site is in port you can check water temp , height of waves etc on http://ricosurf.globo.com/