need advice for language school in Mexico

Apr 1st, 2003, 06:22 PM
Original Poster

need advice for language school in Mexico

Having just returned from a vacation to Guadalajara and Guanajuato, I am now anxious to go to a language school in Mexico to begin to sharpen my Spanish. I am a beginner level 2 (probably). Unfortunately I can only be gone for a one week school.
1. My research points me into either the NCRSA schools or the Spanish-Abroad schools. Any experience with either of these?
2. I like the looks of the Spanish-Abroad schools in Oaxaca. either the Becari or the Solexico..Any advice?
3. I plan to take advantage of the family stay program. Good idea?
4. Would I be better off paying for the 1 on 1 instruction? Or is that too intense?
5. some of the schools offer either a 4,5 or 6 session per day group program. I was thinking about the 6 sessions per day if I did the group classes. Would that be too much?
6. I am a mid 50's businessman.. Should that have a bearing on what school I choose?
7. I am not locked in to Oaxaca but the city appeals to me. I prefer to fly into a closeby airport so I am not spending all my time traveling the last leg on a bus. Any other suggestions as to cities in other schools that you think would be worth the look? thanks for the help.
ns
Apr 2nd, 2003, 09:38 AM

www.tomzap.com has good info on Oaxaca - there's a message board there where you can ask the same questions of expats in the area.
Apr 2nd, 2003, 10:13 AM